John Rodwell

Some sad news was received this week regarding an old club member John Rodwell  who passed away on Thursday.

John the was the eldest son of Mick Rodwell and brother to Chris and Sarah.

John was a senior pairs champion with his partner Malcom Clarke in the early sixties.

Our thoughts go out to all his family and friends

What A Weekend!

With nine wins, eight second places, three thirds and many more, we can’t think of a better way to kick start the rowing regatta season.

The weekend saw Herne Bay Amateur Rowing Club travelling to Bexhill and Hastings to race on both days in the sweltering sunshine and choppy waters. But rough seas are what the club are used to, so they were in their element!

The Masters 40+ crew, consisting of new captain, Darren White, Liz Taylor, Stuart Webb and John Cox went in to win straight away. Coxed by Maisie Jeffries on both days who pushed and shouted the well experienced crew into first place.

The Master 50+ also did incredibly well both days. On the Saturday they were slightly beaten by the Hastings crew, who are celebrating their club’s 150th anniversary this year. However, the Bay crew made up for it by coming first on the Sunday. Well done to Maisie Jeffries who helped them get to that finish line.

Well done to Junior 14 boys crew: Jacob Webb, Will White, Bradley Perry-French and brother Lewis Perry-French with Adam Taylor as cox, who beat the other crews by miles coming first in their race.

The men’s Junior four crew had an awesome start in both races, getting them that lead on the other crews in the race and landing them into first place on both days. Their crew consisted of bow man Manuel Marques, Will White, Tom Harris, Luke Taylor taking stroke position on the Saturday and James Dawkins joining the crew on the Sunday. This also means that young Will, at only 14 years old has moved up from Novice to Junior status.

The crew to watch was men’s senior four race, made up of Ryan Hosking in Bow, Tom Walton, Dan Ritchie and Will Campbell leading and keeping the pace in stroke and again coxed by twelve year old Maisie Jeffries. The powerhouse crew sped through the water beating the other crews by many lengths on the Sunday at Bexhill.

Luke Taylor and Manuel Marques were definitely on form this weekend as they jumped into their pair boat, beating all other crews to the finish line. These two have been competing together and training all winter, so they deserved to get to first position.

The race that amazed us all on the Saturday was the ladies junior pair. Georgia Shelton and Jasmine Amos have only been training a short while as a pair and absolutely smashed it in their race by coming second. They may not have come first, but they should be so proud.

Another second place was achieved on the Sunday by the Ladies Junior four crew: Jasmine Amos in stroke position, Heidi White, Georgia Shelton and Stephanie Rondel in bow. It was lovely to see everyone working together so well.

The newly appointed captain for 2018, Darren White said a few words about the weekends racing “I was so so proud to be captain this weekend! So many achievements, so much determination, commitment and shear guts! All the hard work and winter training gave us plenty of reward, well done to each and every one of you.”

Hastings and Bexhill was a huge success and with all of these wins, meant the club achieved second place in the grand aggregate and won the junior aggregate trophy for the weekend.

Maisie Jeffries has to be the coxwain of the weekend, as she was the one directing, steering, shouting and screaming the winning crews into their subsequent places! Well done to Maisie.

New Committee For 2018

The Club’s Annual General Meeting was held at the Boathouse on Friday the 19th January.

The main business was to elect a new committe for the year ahead and the following officers of the club have been elected to serve this year:

  • President – Elizabeth Taylor
  • Chairman – Trevor Brown
  • Vice Chairman – Stuart Webb
  • Hon. Secretary – Mark Davies
  • Hon. Treasurer – Harry Roberts
  • Regatta secretary – Elizabeth Taylor
  • Hon. Auditors – Ogilvy & Co (Accountants) Ltd
  • Captain – Darren White
  • Vice-Captain – Emily Noyes
  • Safety Officer – Jeff Hutton
  • Club Welfare – John Cox
  • Six committee posts
    • Four rowing members – Mark Jeffries, Kaye Sullivan, James Dawkins, George Holness
    • Two social members – Ryan Epps, Jon Holness

History of The Viking Shield Regatta

The Viking Shield Regatta takes place each year before the start of the CARA summer Regatta Season.

The Viking Shield is a trophy awarded to the fastest coastal pair in an annual competition between the Kent Rowing clubs. The winning club also have the honour of hosting the Regatta the following year.

The event has a special significance for Herne Bay Rowing Club as Ryan Hosking and Darren Ingram won the shield 10 times in a row which is undoubtably a record and in recognition of this fact Herne Bay named a pair boat after them in 2010.

2006 Viking Shield Winners

Their run came to an end in 2010 when Ashley Epps and Andy Cooper beat Ryan and Darren but the following year at the 2011 event Folkestone were the fastest Kent crew so the Regatta was due to be held there in 2012
However due to bad weather the Regatta was cancelled and the trophy awarded to the fastest Kent pair at Folkestone Regatta – Deal – who will host the 2013 Viking Shield Regatta.

Continue reading “History of The Viking Shield Regatta”